Serving soldiers marching on parade

How we're run

The governance of SSAFA

Governance of SSAFA

We are governed by a board of Trustees who make and approve SSAFA policy. They oversee our Chief Executive and his Executive team who together look after to day to day management of the charity.

Everyone involved in the governance of SSAFA is dedicated to ensuring that our Armed Forces, past and present, get the best possible support.

Our Trustees

Our Trustees are all volunteers who give their time and expertise to the management of SSAFA. They have ultimate responsibility for directing SSAFA's affairs and ensuring we are solvent, well-run and that we meet our objectives.

All Trustees are also members of the Council and meet regularly to discuss the charity's activities and progress.

National Chairman

Lieutenant General (retd) Sir Gary Coward KBE CB

National Vice Chairman

Wing Commander (retd) Kirsty Bushell

Vice Chairman (Strategic Development) 

Jonathan Jelley MBE JP

Honorary Treasurer

David Rowe


James Carleton

Commodore (retd) Peter Cowling

Colonel (retd) John Goodsir CBE

David McCorkell

Robert Murphy

Air Vice-Marshal (retd) Charles Ness

Sarah Rutherford-Jones

David Singletary

Evelyn Strouts

Dr Diana Wood

Executive team

Our Chief Executive is Lieutenant General Sir Andrew Gregory KBE CB. He is supported by the Executive team who provide advice, guidance and direction to SSAFA's work.


Lieutenant General (retd.) Sir Andrew Gregory KBE CB

Chief of Staff and Director of People and Organisational Development

Ian Hicks

Director of Client Services

Stephen Richards


Director of Finance

Simon Blum


Director of Fundraising

Jonathan Sandall


Director of Health and Social Care

Dr David Williams


Director of Marketing and Communications

Lisa Shattock


Director of Volunteer Operations

Julie McCarthy


Reports and publications